Lazy Sundays | Wandering around Bristol

Lewis popped down to visit me two weeks ago for Reading Week so we decided to go to Bristol. As it’s only about £10 and an hour away on the train it’s a pretty convent place to visit and there’s quite a lot to do. I had a quick google of things to do online and decided we should try and head for St Nicholas market. Luckily it’s a pretty straight walk from the station and we managed to find it without too much standing and staring at maps, looking touristy. I really loved the Market, it reminded me a lot of Camden, with the wonderful smells of street food and all the bright colours of market-stall selling. I was very tempted by the Eat-a-Pita stand, which I had read was one of the best places to eat in Bristol and by Pieminister (which is a new food outlet edition to campus this year, and one that I am obsessed with!)


IMG_4694
IMG_4696
IMG_4698

The Market was a lot bigger than we originally thought, with and assortment of shops selling books, records, vintage trinkets, haberdashery, chocolate and jewellery on one side of the food bit, and an indoor market selling everything from birthday cards to hot sauce on the other. I left Lewis in a few of the record shops and went in search of vintage finds.

IMG_4690

IMG_4700

IMG_4699

One of my favourite shops at the market sold homemade homeware items, most of which had a really cool, unique map theme. There where picture frames, bunting and ceramic decorations, all made using all fashioned maps and they looked really cool. I had to go and get some money out – as I never seem to remember that these are not the type of shops that take cards, and bought a really sweet ceramic heart for my bedroom

IMG_4683.

IMG_4684

IMG_4686

There were a few other great stalls, including one with beautiful handmade jewellery – pendant necklaces and engraved bangals like the type that you might find on Etsy, and one that sold the most wonderful smelling candles. I could easily have spent about £50 in one go. Not to mention the really cool vintage shop on the edge of the market. Round the back of St Nicholas there was also a registry office, where a couple were getting married and we stood with the rest of the crowd and watched them come out to huge cheers and windswept confetti from their friends. It was a pretty cool moment.

IMG_4688

On the look out for jeans we then headed towards Cabot Circus, which if you don’t know is a really big shopping centre. Lewis found some jeans in Next and of course I dragged him around Mango, Zara, Pull and Bear and Topshop. Feeling pretty starved, we decided to go for lunch at Zizzi’s. I chose to sit outside, which was a bit of a mistake but the food was really good. We shared Carmelised Onion Garlic Bread and then I had a salad with butternut squash, chicken skewers and dough sticks and Lewis had a pizza. It was really nice, but that didn’t stop us picking up free Pumpkin Spiced Latte’s outside Starbucks – I mean, they were free.

We wandered around Cabot Circus a bit more and back over to St Nicholas Market and then headed back to the train, passing on our way a Sardinian restaurant, which looked amazing. We had a quick peak at the menu and saw that they sold Ichnusa, a beer made on and named after the island and had some sauces made with Mirto – a spirit made from berries that grow on the island. I was so excited to tell my friend Giulia about it, I think she’s planning a trip already.

IMG_4681

Overall, we had a really great time in Bristol. I’m sure there’s a lot more to do and I think we will definitely go back, especially as it’s not too pricey. There were a lot of cool looking shops and places to eat, so you could easily spend a day there just wandering around.

I hope you liked this post, have you ever been to Bristol? Are there any other great things to do?

Harriette

 

Leave a Reply

