Bath + Shower Favourites

Ever since going to University, I have been a little bit obsessed with fancy toiletry goodies. Anything that’s a little bit luxury and smells nice is a little bit special when you’re at Uni to be honest and so I sort of starting collecting toiletries. I celebrated my birthday the summer before going to Uni and so I had a lot of nice birthday gifts to take with me including a Ted Baker bath and shower set, a Baylis and Harding bath and shower set, and some Lush goodies. As if this wasn’t enough, I also attended two bloggers meets, one in January and another in June where I received even more lovely shower products. So here it is a list of a few of my favourites that always cheered me up (wow, that’s a little sad) after a crappy day because there’s nothing like feeling clean and warm and relaxed and smelling good.  

IMG_5319

IMG_5321

Lush “Whoosh” Shower Jelly

I’ve been picking this up for just over a year now and I really like it. I first became aware of this product when I received it as a birthday gift from my boyfriend’s nan a couple of weeks before I started my A levels, as it claims to give “renewed focus with tired jet lagged or revising for exams”. For my birthday this year I actually received two tubs of this, the smaller tub from Lewis and this larger tub from my mum. Made with lemon, lime, grapefruit and rosemary, I like it because it smells quite a bit like Jelly Babies. I think the renewed focus is more the result a placebo effect than the actual product itself, although you do have to concentrate pretty hard with this slippery substance in the shower so maybe that’s where the focus comes in. 

IMG_5324

IMG_5328

Lee Stafford “Get’s Rid of Frizz” Treatment

This is, and has been for a while, my absolute favourite shower product. I got this in my goodie bag at the Bristol Bloggers Meet, and didn’t actually touch it for about 4 months. Then one day I came across it, and decided to put it in my en suite and use it the next time I had a shower. This stuff is absolutely uh-mazing! To start with, it smells incredible, sort of floral and coconutty, giving you that ‘just stepped out of the salon’ whiff. This product is designed to be used between you’re shampoo and conditioner as a hair mask. You take an egg-sized scoop of product and put it all over your hair, leaving it for a set amount of time so that it sinks in properly. I’ve been using this product for a pretty long time now, and I still have a little bit left, so it does last a long time. This treatment is fantastic for nourishing dry hair, detangling and just making sure you get a smooth, sleek, shiny blow-dry. Perfect! Generally it says to use a conditioner afterwards, but you’ll probably find that you don’t need one. This product particularly came to my rescue when I used to go swimming in the mornings at Uni, as a small amount of treatment would easily detangle those stubborn chlorine-induced knots. 

IMG_5329

IMG_5330

Boots “Build Up Removal Expert” Shampoo 

I bought this after reading a couple of good reviews on a few different blogs about how it can really declog all of that product build up out of your hair. I have to admit I was surprised at the hefty price tag of just under £4.00 but I decided that for a product that I was only going to use one in a while to detoxify and remove all the impurities from my hair, it wasn’t too bad. For me this product is perfect for when I feel like i’ve been using a lot of products in my hair. Shampoo, Conditioner, Heat Protection Spray, Sea Salt Spray, Dry Shampoo – it can all make my hair feel heavy and thick, so using this shampoo to wash that all away leaves me feeling much lighter and cleaner. 

IMG_5333

IMG_5334

Soap and Glory ” The Scrub Of Your Life” Body Scrub and “Glad Hair Day” Shampoo

I hadn’t actually tried out a Soap and Glory product until last Christmas, I’d just gotten the blogging bug and so I was on the look out for brands that all the beauty bloggers were using. I’d always seen Soap and Glory products and loved the puny names and retro design, but the cost did put me off trying any. In recent years however, I have made the momentous discovery that is Boots on Boxing Day and I have to say I would recommend everyone go. Long story short, I used to head straight for Topshop for the Boxing Day sales until I realised that Boots sell all of their fancy gift sets half price. Needless to say I was extremely happy when I picked up a Soap and Glory Bubble Barrel complete with 6 miniature products for only £6.00! I love all of them individually but “The Scrub of Your Life” and “Glad Hair Day” smell particularly good and are so handy for shoving in my bag for a weekend in London with Lewis or for a holiday, or just for when I feel like smelling amazing.

IMG_5338 IMG_5339

Elemis “Skin Buff” Face Scrub

Elemis are a really terrific skincare brand and I really love their scented cleansers and toners. I got this “Skin Buff” in my Elemis Skin Brilliance Hydrating Skincare set [which I had reviewed here] and initially I wasn’t really a big fan. Face scrubs aren’t really my favourites as I have pretty sensitive skin and my cheeks tend to go all red and a bit sore if I use a face scrub, so I tend to just stick to cleansers. When I first gave this a go I found it to be a bit rough and sandpapery. However, after going a while without using it, I reread the instructions on the back and had another go. This time I was a lot more gentle, and i found it a lot more comfortable. The “Skin Buff” for me works better than other face scrubs as it has really tiny grains, rather than larger beads and so it’s a lot softer. It leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth and looking brighter. I’m not really sure that I would buy this product on it’s own, but as part of a set I’m happy to use it when my skin is looking a little dull. 

IMG_5341 IMG_5343

Ted Baker “Body Scrub”

From face scrub and onto body scrub, as you might be able to tell I’ve gotten into the whole exfoliating thing at the moment, mainly because I’ve been slapping on the fake tan in this summer weather. This body scrub from Ted Baker looks pretty much just like salt, and rubs gently onto the skin to give a lovely soft finish. I love putting it on my legs after I shave them, to leave them feeling soft and silky smooth all day.

IMG_5352 IMG_5353Yves Rocher Organic Raspberry “Exfoliating Shower Gel”

Ok, so maybe not actually one of my favourites, as the actually exfoliating parts are a bit rough and annoying and end up all over the shower. But I do appreciate the fact that some of the exfoliating beads look like, or are, strawberry seeds. The only reason I’ve mentioned this product really is because it smells like jam, which is a bit of a novelty.

IMG_5347 IMG_5349Betty Jackson “Fresh Lavender” Bath Oil 

Of course one of the great things about being at home and not in halls is that I can have lovely long baths and watch Netflix on my laptop. Ah bliss. I found this cute little Betty Jackson Black set in our spare room, complete with lavender candle, this bath oil and a lavender body butter. Lavender in itself is great for a long relaxing bath as it’s a naturally soothing smell and the oily texture of the product actually makes your skin feel really smooth and lovely. Even on getting out of the bath, my skin was still all oily and moisturise, which might not be for everyone but I didn’t mind it. I fell asleep very quickly that evening, and have saved the rest of the bottle for the day I get home from Reading Festival – although I think i’ll have a little shower first! 

I hope you enjoyed this post of my bath and shower favourites. What are some of your favourite products to use in the shower or the bath?

Harriette

Leave a Reply

