Summer Staples *

The benefit to being a June baby, is that my birthday comes right at the beginning of the summer, just as I’m itching to get my hands on a new summer wardrobe. I’m pretty good when it comes to summer clothes, as I tend to invest and keep items for a number of years. This year however, my clothes selection was in need of a serious update. So here are a few of my Summer Staples for 2014….

The Bold Playsuit

IMG_4807

I really love a good playsuit in the summer. They are so easy and light to chuck on and they can be easily dressed up or down for day to night looks. There also tends to be a wide variety of choice, on the hunt for a bold floral playsuit I was over-whelmed by the variety of choice in a range of different shops. I did however, immediately fall in love with this sunflower pattern from Pins & Needles at Urban Outfitters. It’s made of a beautiful silky material that’s lightweight and the colours are really bold and summery. I found that it hung on me a lot better than other playsuits, as I have somewhat of a boyish shape some playsuits tend to be a bit baggy around the top, but this fitted perfectly. I especially love the scalloped detailing of the neckline, which adds a pretty, feminine detail to this lovely playsuit. Dressed up with my big floppy hat and round sunglasses, I felt a bit like an old school hippy in this and I can definitely see it easily teamed with a pair of wellies ready for the festival season. 

IMG_4944

This is another playsuit that I got from Topshop a little while ago now in the Easter holidays. Like the one above, the pattern makes it easy to wear just on it’s own in the daytime, and it can be easily paired with a leather jacket and some lipstick for a smart casual night time look. I have worn this playsuit endlessly since I first bought it and it is certainly one of my favourite items of clothing.

The Floral Shorts/ Skirt 

IMG_4870

Summer florals are always a major trend at this time of year, and so I thought it was about time I got my hands on some summery bottoms. This skirt from Topshop for me ticks a lot of boxes as it’s not just floral but it’s also a lovely vibrant red colour. I am somewhat guilty of sticking to the same old colours… black, white, grey and the occasional pink or green. So this year I’m really trying to make an effort with colours and bold patterns that I might not usually go for. For me, this skirt is ideal as it can be paired with so many different outfits and accessories. Here, I have worn it with a little white crop top from Topshop, my Cleated New Look Sandals, my Forever 21 Round Sunglasses and my Floppy Topshop Hat.

IMG_4966

I featured these Daisy Print Culottes in a recent OOTD post and  I absolutely love them. Although they are black and white, daisies are my favourite flowers and so when I first picked these up in Topshop I knew I had to have them. Here I’ve paired them with a pretty, little, black scalloped vest top from Topshop. I really like this top, it’s much prettier and more flattering than a regular vest top and yet it easily goes with everything. Like my dark Topshop playsuit, these shorts are great in the day time but also can look really smart for drinks out with the girls, or date night.

The Striped Tee

IMG_4889

Nautical is in this summer. The classic blue and white striped top is certainly a summer essential in my book, again mainly because it’s so flexible. Here I’ve worn it with my red skirt, but it also goes brilliantly with denim shorts for a cool dressed down look, or it looks great with a good old pair of dungarees. This long-sleeved number has lasted me a pretty long time, as it goes well with a pair of Mom-Jeans in the winter or a leather skirt and also works for those colder summer days.

The High-Waisted Denim Shorts + The Cropped Top

IMG_4840 IMG_4841

High waisted denim shorts and cropped tops are a match made in heaven for me. I am a big fan of anything high waisted as they give a lovely flattering vintage feel to any outfit. Cropped tops are always out in force during the summer and I have to admit I love them, but I tend to shy away from them. Although they are often pretty and summery, I find they can be unflattering if not worn with the right items of clothing. I certainly don’t have a wash board stomach and so I’m rather reluctant to put too much of it on show. I got these shorts last year from River Island, they’re a lovely light colour and of course can be easily paired with pretty much anything. I picked this cropped, vintage-style, floral top from Urban Outfitters in the sale, as I thought it was really cute and pretty. Together I think they just make a casual pretty outfit, without showing off too much skin.

The LWD

IMG_1774

IMG_1773

IMG_1784 IMG_1787

Forget the LBD when summer comes around it’s all about finding the perfect Little White Dress, that’s pretty and feminine and shows off your holiday tan. I found this dress recently in Topshop and thought it was just what I was looking for. The two-tiered detail gives this dress a nice tailored look. And the scalloped edges and crotchet pattern give it a pretty, feminine style.

The Gladiator Sandals 

IMG_1782

I tend to buy a new pair of ‘summer shoes’ (generally sandals) every year, mainly just because once I get a pair I wear them religiously for the whole summer. These Chunky Cleated Sole Gladiator Sandals caught my eye a while ago in New Look. I was impressed by the cleated soles and the gold strap details, which I think make them look much more expensive that £24.99. The chunky soles are much better for your feet than really flat sandals, and the zip down the back is handy for easily slipping them on and off without all the fiddling with little straps. I’m confident that these are going to last me a good couple of summers.

2014 Summer Staples I have yet to acquire….

co ords and two pieces

Top to Bottom, Left to Right  : 1| Pins & Needles Floral Lace Crop Top and Lace Trim Shorts – £24.00 + £22.00 (Urban Outfitters).  2| Lexi Large Floral Bandeau + Shorts Co-ord Set – £20.00 (boohoo.com).  3| Ribbon Floral Co-ord Cami – £14.00 + £16.00 (BANK Fashion).  4| Vintage Renewal Floral Crop Top + Skirt in Blue – £28.00 + £28.00 (Urban Outfitters).  5| Bold Floral Shorts and T-Shirt – £32.99 + Out of Stock (Oasis).  6| Reclaimed Vintage Bralet and Shorts in Floral Print – £32.00 + £35.00 (ASOS).  7| Reclaimed Vintage Crop Top and Maxi Skirt in Floral Print – £30.00 + £50.00 (ASOS).

Kimonos

As Numbered: 1| Kimchi Blue Scarf Print Kimono Jacket – £55.00 (Urban Outfitters).  2| Denise Floral Woven Kimono – £15.00 (boohoo.com).  3| Parisian Yellow Leaf Print Tassle Hem Kimono – £24.99 (New Look).  4| Ribbon Floral Fringe Kimono – £25.00 (BANK Fashion).  5| Tropical Bird Kimono – £40.00 (Oasis).  6. Printed Waistcoat with Fringes – £12.99 (Zara).

 

Got your eye on some summer staples, but not quite enough funds?  Check out Raise.com, a new website which allows users to buy reduced gift cards, which you can buy here. AND you can sell your unwanted gift cards too. 

Harriette


 

* This post was originally written as part of Raise.com ‘s Closet Swap Campaign.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

