This Month I’m Loving… Nair Brazilian Spa Clay Shower Power Cream

IMG_7601

I have to admit that I didn’t actually expect to do a review on this product, and so I didn’t take any good product pictures before I started using it and the bottle got a bit gross. Definitely more from my messiness than a comment on the product itself.

I recieved the Nair Brazilian Spa Clay Shower Power Cream as part of my goodie bag from the Bristol Bloggers Meet and I was more than a little dismissive of it, shoving it in my Ted Baker beauty box for a rainy day. I had used one Nairs product before this and I wasn’t majorly impressed with it. I was convinced that hair removal cream didn’t actually work and the only way to get rid of my hairy legs was (a) to have them waxed or (b) to shave them. Usually my method is the latter, primarily because: I have a very low pain threshold, shaving is cheaper, and I hate the idea of letting the hair grow back in between waxes [although this usually happens anyway down to my laziness].

Anyway, in that very long introduction to this post, I am trying to explain that I was more than a little bit prejudice against hair removal products in general and especially Nair. However, I am happy to announce that this product has changed my mind, so much so that I feel inclined to share my love for it on here.

IMG_4972

I finally gave in and decided to give it a try because I was about to try fake tan for the first time ever. I got the Cocoa Brown 1 hour Tan Mousse in the goodie bag also and I was desperate to try it ready for the English Ball ( check out my tanned self here). As this was my first time using fake tan, I wanted to make sure I’d done my research so I read alot of blogs and watched a few Youtube videos – particularly Marissa’s own one. One of the pieces of advice given was to shave your legs well, as hairless legs prevent tan sticking to the hairs.

Now I am definitely not the most careful shaver, and I often find later that day after shaving I still have rather hairy knees or the backs of my legs are a bit stubbly. Not ideal. So I thought that using the Nair cream might be a slightly quicker way of removing as much hair as possible, and would get to those hard to reach areas that I tend to miss – thus providing me with the optimum streak free godess tan.

To apply the product, Nair provide a weird little spatula, which stops you from getting the cream all over your hands, although it does sort of go everywhere anyway – but again I’m not the most careful. It can take a bit of a long time to spread the cream in an even layer all over both your legs, but I don’t think it takes any longer than shaving and I do prefer it. Generally I’d put the cream on, leave it for 5 or so minute and then turn the shower on and wash it off.

The product itself is a beigy-grey colour and certainly is not my favourite smell, although my little en-suite bathroom at Uni has smelt of it for a while so I’m probably just sick of the smell by now. It does smell a bit like the “clay” it claims to be and any unwanted smell is easily resolved by a nice smelly showegel after you’ve washed off the cream. Obviously for covering both your legs like I did, you do use quite alot of product and I think I got about 3 uses out of it before I ran out but this acutally isn’t too bad.

IMG_3055

By far the best thing about this product is how long the effects last. After first applying it on the Friday night, I didn’t see any significant re-growth until the following Friday, which rather impressed me. Plus using the product nourishes your skin, leaving it smooth and silky to the touch – what everyone wants after a shave. You get quite a bit of product in the bottle, despite the fact you use quite a lot each time, so I managed to get about 4 uses out of it, each time doing both of my legs from thigh to ankle. This spa clay retails for about £6.99, which I think is a great price considering that’s essentially a month’s worth of smooth legs.

Overall I have been surprised by how much I love this product. I would certainly consider buying it again, even if it’s just use on the areas I hate shaving like knees, ankles, and down there. It’s especially convient for use a couple of days before fake tanning, as my Cocoa Brown tan looked great on and I didn’t have to worry about hairy knees.

IMG_1215

Harriette

One comment

Leave a Reply

