Winter Skin Saviour

Image

Like probably a lot of you, my skin has been suffering in this horrible English winter. I have combination skin, which can annoyingly get really dry in some places and really oily in others. However, recently I have been noticing that after putting my makeup on in the morning it would make my face look very dry and flaky, particularly on my forehead and cheeks. I had been using my normal skin care routine with the added ingredient of Rimmel’s new Stay Matte Primer and some Superdrug Facial Cleansing wipes. I read on Beaus and Bows that cleansing wipes can dry out your skin, so I immediately stopped using them – although I do miss the lovely fresh cucumber smell. Although not looking specifically for a product to help hydrate my skin before putting on my makeup, I was keeping an eye out and that’s how I came across my new skin saviour: Nivea Daily Essentials Express Hydration Primer for Dry/ Sensitive Skin. I chose the Dry/ Sensitive Skin over the Combination version, as I have been suffering more with dry skin at the moment, and I do have very sensitive skin so I have to be wary of what products I use. I bought it for £4.49 from Savers [always a good shop to check out for hair/makeup and now alcohol bargains], it comes in a really sweet little glass pot – so it immediately feels more like a high-end product and for the price you get 50ml, which is quite a lot considering I only use a few dabs each day. The primer has a really nice light consistency that spreads easily, so little product is needed. It smells really fresh and clean, which is nice for those groggy just-stumbled-out-of-bed mornings and sinks into the skin quickly. After using it, I found applying my makeup was lot more fluid and my skin was instantly hydrated with no horrible dry/ flaky patches. I have now used this product for a good week and my skin looks so much better, no longer quiet so dull it has a matte glow with works perfectly for my combination skin.

Overall, I cannot recommend this product more, it’s very low cost – especially considering the amount of product and it does exactly what it says, hydrating the skin whilst acting as a great primer. It has definitely saved my skin while this horrible winter continues.

Do you have any winter skin saviours?

Harriette

One comment

Leave a Reply

