Getting my Gatsby On…

On Friday night I was very excited to go to my university’s Prohibition Ball organised by the Raise and Give Society (RAG). I had wanted to go to or throw a Great Gatsby themed party for ages, because I love the fashion from the age with all the lace and sequins and feathers. I was particularly lucky, because I already had a dress to wear. I bought this dress from River Island before Christmas, because I walked into the shop and absolutely fell in love with it, to me (without trying to sound too cheesy) it’s like a dress that you would wear on the red carpet – at £50 it was a bit of an investment piece, but I can see that I am going to wear it a lot!

Like any big night out the part that was the most fun was the getting ready. My wonderful flatmate Giulia curled my hair for me, which was really lovely and I was trading lipsticks and dresses with people, lending my Topshop lipstick to my friend Rachel who did my eye makeup with her Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. Amid all the lipstick swapping and fixing our headbands it was absolutely chucking it down outside, but that didn’t deter us.

Sorry about the poor picture quality. Here I am wearing: MaxFactor Miracle Touch Foundation, Sleek Contouring Kit Highlighter, Bronzer and Blusher, MaxFactor Wild Mega Volume Mascara, No7 Stay Perfect Metallic Eyes Pencil, Maxfactor Lipfinity Lasting Lip Tint 04 and eyeshadows from the Urban Decay Naked Palette 3.

The Ball was held at Exeter Phoenix – a really nice arts centre where a lot of bands come to play and theatre productions are put on. It was really great to see everyone all dressed up, and although their was distinctly more girls, a lot of the boys looked great too in their trilby hats and braces holding fake cigars. RAG managed to get hold of Bristol DJs Toyboy and Robin [I’ve never heard of them either] and they played a lot of jazz music and songs from the Gatsby Soundtrack at the beginning of the night with a projector screen behind them showing clips from the movie in black and white. As well, as this there were some really great dancers, an old fashioned popcorn machine, and even some people poledancing, so there was a lot going on and we had a really fun night.

1658184_10152202270032071_254953849_o

Thank you for reading! Have any of you been to Great Gatsby themed parties? If so what did you wear? How did you do your makeup/ hair etc?

Harriette

2 comments

Leave a Reply

