My Daily Skincare Routine + Elemis Skin Brilliance Hydrating Skincare Gift Set Review

So I just wanted to start off this post by letting you know a little bit about my daily skincare routine. I am  18 and have had my fair share of bad skin, however in recent years I’ve been blessed with pretty clear skin which  I put down to the fact that over the last 4 or so years I have used these two key products:

1543735_10152156016007071_1713325574_n

Left: Simple Kind to Skin Purifying Cleansing Lotion 200ml Right: Simple Kind to Skin Soothing Facial Toner 200ml

I use these products everyday before I put my makeup on, Cleanser then Toner then Moisturiser however I would also really recommend using the Simple Kind to Eyes Eye Make-up Remover which I love. Simple credit themselves on being experts in sensitive skin. Their products have no colour, no perfumes and pride themselves on being suitable for all skin types particularly the most sensitive – so if like me, you have sensitive skin, these could be the perfect products for you.

On using the Cleanser and Toner before  putting on your makeup  you can see on the cotton pad the dirt that comes off your face, without using these products all of that dirt would remain on my skin and underneath my makeup for the whole day – gross! The products recommend that you use them twice a day, once in the morning before you put your makeup on and once in the evening to take your makeup off – personally I usually just use makeup remover wipes to take my makeup off at the end of the day but I’m sure these products work really well for makeup removal too.

Simple have created a wide range of products for good, healthy skin some of which are especially designed for bad skin, for example I use the Kind to Skin Purifying Cleansing Lotion, but they also do a Kind to Skin Pore Minimising Toning Cleanser and a range of Spotless Skin face washes and Deep Clean Cleansing Pads for getting right into those pores. I would certainly recommend Simple products to anyone as they are nice to use, they last a long time as very little product is needed per application and they are a good price. The three products that I frequently buy, the Cleanser, the Toner and the Make-up Remover retail at around £3.00 each, which I do not think is bad at all.

In fact the only product so far that I have tried from the Simple range that I don’t like is  the Simple Kind to Skin Hydrating Light Moisturiser. It’s a really great light moisturiser but I really hate the smell, it’s quite plastic and artificial and I find I can smell it throughout the day, which I don’t really like. I did originally get all 3 products but I have phased out the moisturiser and used a range of different others including the Elemis Mattifying Moisturiser as a replacement as I prefer the smell and texture.

So for Christmas this year I asked for an Elemis Moisturiser and I was lucky enough to receive Elemis Skin Brillance Hydrating Skincare Collection Gift Set…

1085227_10152156016002071_330959312_n

1600303_10152156015997071_87072760_n

I am completely and utterly smitten over this gift set, I have already been looking at where I can by another one reduced online because it is so good. Originally my mum had planned just to get me the Elemis Maximum Moisture Day Cream , which retails at about £38.00 on it’s own, so the lady at the counter convinced her to get the whole gift set which full price before Christmas was about £40.00.  This set includes: the Rehydrating Rosepetal Cleanser 50ml, the Soothing Apricot Toner 5oml, the Maximum Moisture Day Cream 50ml (full size) and the Skin Buff 20ml.

Image 1

So these products are basically luxury versions of my Simple collection. The Cleanser and Toner both smell absolutely amazing and are soothing to apply to my skin – also very little product is needed which is good because then it will last much longer. The moisturiser is light and sinks easily into my skin creating giving it a dewy look. The only thing I would point out is that this is the Hydrating Skincare Elemis Gift Set so if you have quite oily skin this probably isn’t the gift set for you. I have combination skin and so I feel these products give me just the right glow before applying my makeup without making my skin look shiny and oily. I also wasn’t a big fan of the Skin Buff, which I have only used once in the shower, but I found it was very rough on my sensitive skin which I didn’t really enjoy – however I will give it another go and update you if I like it a bit better next time. Overall, however I cannot recommend these products highly enough I absolutely love them and feel like i’m giving my skin a little spa treatment each time I use them.

They are quite expensive, particularly if you’re buying them separately and so I don’t use them everyday like I do my cheaper Simple collection, but I do like to use them on special occasions or if I just want to smell glorious! And they do make fabulous gifts for your friends and family to get you if you’re not sure what you want for your birthday/ christmas. If you’re looking to purchase this set it’s worth shopping around online as some shops are still doing reduced versions after Christmas – personally I’ve got my eye on the Elemis Skin Brillance Gift Set, which includes 200ml versions of the Rehydrating Rosepetal Cleanser and the Sooting Apricot Toner, a 50ml Maximum Replenish Night Cream and a 20ml Maximum Moisture Day Cream. That’s one thing for my birthday list already!

I hope you found this post useful to read, please feel free to comment and let me know what are your holy grail of skin products – I’m always looking to try out new ones (bank balance permitting). Thanks for reading.

signed

One comment

Leave a Reply

